Embracing the Quiet Days

I woke up early this morning and pottered down the stairs. I filled the kettle and waited for it to boil. I made some coffee and rambled back upstairs to my bedroom. I sipped my coffee, dreamed over the pages of my book and scribbled in my journal. There’s something so beautiful about calm Saturday mornings.

I think it’s important to take a day off to unwind and to breathe. Saturday is the only day off I have from college or work, so I always try my best to make it the best day of the week. I don’t do anything extravagant or daring on this day off. I actually do the opposite, I sit back and recharge my batteries.

I thought I’d share three things that I love to do on these calm days.

1: Drink coffee in bed

My mornings consist of hitting the snooze button far too often, rummaging through my presses for a pair of tights that aren’t ripped, and rushing around to the bus stop with an empty stomach and bag full of assignment briefs. I don’t get to go on peaceful morning strolls or sip coffee in my local cafe as I watch the world go by. The first thing I do on a Saturday morning is pour warm coffee into my favourite red mug, curl up in bed and embrace that moment.

2: Read

I’m a massive bookworm, but due to the never ending pile of assignments I have to do, I never have enough time to power through my TBR list. I’ve been reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin for what feels like a lifetime now. In the mornings I try to give myself at least an hour to curl up in bed and just read. Reading is the perfect escapism for me and it never fails to calm me down and helps me forget about my worries.

3: Go on a solo date

I’ve been going to the cinema and to cafes by myself a lot more lately and I love it. I’ve become a lot more independent and confident. Some days I feel too anxious to go out so I sit in and catch up on Call The Midwife, or listen to music on Spotify; I’ve fallen in love with the latest Ed Sheeran album. Spending time alone helps me become more mindful and focused. I’m constantly surrounded by people whether I’m in work or in college, so it’s nice to have some time alone with my thoughts every so often.

What do you do on your days off? Let me know in the comments or tweet me @katkatkatt

Sincerely Yours,

Kat

One thought on “Embracing the Quiet Days

  1. What a lovely post 🙂 sounds like a great way to spend the day. Have just started to get myself up earlier, slowly getting up 10 minutes earlier every couple of days. Now I find time for a coffee before I go to work and enjoy the morning silence.

    Like

Leave a Reply

