An Open Letter to 2016

Dear 2016,

I felt like writing to you as our time together is about to end. You were such a strange year, 2016. You took away so many of the worlds heroes from Bowie to Alan Rickman and from Carrie Fisher to Gene Wilder. You were a cruel one, 2016. You were the bully at the back of the school bus, the office co-worker that drinks the last of the coffee, the bus driver that doesn’t wait as you frantically run to the bus stop. You weren’t nice, not very nice at all. The world is ready to say goodbye to you 2016, and I so am I, but I just wanted to write to you in these final few hours, even though I cannot wait to meet 2017.

I’m not one to focus my energy on the negatives, 2016. I’m all about embracing the positive vibes so I thought I’d mention a few happy moments. I love to make lists so here’s one for you, 2016. Here are a few things that made me smile like the Cheshire Cat over the past 365 days.

  1. Getting my first tattoo to represent my battle with anxiety and depression. I got a semicolon just below my right wrist that symbolizes my strength and hope for my future.
  2. Having my own work published in The West Cork People and on SpunOut.ie.
  3. Running the VHI Women’s Mini Marathon by myself for the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre.
  4. Having the courage to go back to college and becoming features editor of our college newspaper The Student Chronicle.
  5. Reading so many articles and books and poems and blog posts. I’ve gone back to my bookworm days and I am so happy I found that passion 12 year old Kat once had.
  6. Learning to embrace my own company and being independent.
  7. Travelling around Ireland and to Scotland and Amsterdam.
  8. My cat Poppy. The greatest and cutest creature ever.
  9. Being able to go to concerts and seeing some of my favourite bands live.
  10. Feeling positive emotions again like love and happiness and joy and gratitude.

You were so dark and gloomy, 2016, but you had your bright and sunny moments too. I grew as a person, I met some of the most incredible people, I traveled to beautiful cities, I discovered new music and watched new movies and read so many books and I spent time with my friends and family, who are all happy and healthy which is all I could ever wish for.

It’s time to say goodbye, 2016, I won’t miss you, but I certainly won’t forget about you. It’s time for you to step out of the spotlight and let us welcome 2017 with warm and open arms.

Sincerely Yours,

Kat.

 

Leave a Reply

