The Winter Blues

Now that Christmas has passed I’m suffering from a major case of the blues. The week between Christmas and New Years is a strange one isn’t it? I feel very lost and down this week. However instead of letting the negativity take over I have given myself a kick up the arse (and my wonderful friends have sent me the most encouraging messages too) and I’m determined to beat this case of the winter blues.

Something that has always helped me is escaping into the magical world of movies. There’s nothing better than snuggling up on the sofa and watching a timeless classic like  Jurassic Park or The Breakfast Club. If you can spare a few bob I’d highly suggest going to the cinema for a bit of escapism and most importantly butter popcorn.

Another thing that helps is dancing; and don’t worry you don’t need to be as talented as the professional dancers on Strictly Come Dancing. One of the greatest things Grey’s Anatomy taught me was to “dance it out.” Whenever I’m feeling down I channel my inner Meredith and Cristina and dance around my room. It is goofy and you may feel silly as you prance about the place, but it will make you feel full of spirit (and slightly sweaty)

mer-8

Finally, another thing I plan on doing a lot to beat this horrid case of the blues is embracing my creative side. Being creative helps me feel very fulfilled so I’ll definitely be working on a few little projects over the next couple days, whether that’s redecorating my bedroom or writing a short story. You can be creative in whatever way tickles your fancy. For me, writing a short story gives me a huge burst of happiness that I want to store away in a jar and hold onto for these dreary days. You could channel your inner baker and make some cupcakes (and then bring some over to my house) or you could pick up one of those snazzy adult colouring books from Easons and doodle to your hearts content.

The most important thing to remember is that this case of the blues will eventually bugger off and will leave you with a calm and clear mind again. It takes a lot of patience, but you’ll feel better again in no time.

Sincerely Yours,

Kat

Leave a Reply

