I am a Multipotentialite

I’ve been back in college for about one month now and it’s safe to say the final year of my HND in Journalism has been overwhelming and draining so far, seriously, I’ve never napped so much before. On Thursday one of our tutors showed us a Ted Talk by Emilie Wapnick, where she spoke about why some of us don’t have one true calling in life and how it’s perfectly normal . She mentioned the term ‘multipotentialite’ which is a person that has a variety of interests and careers throughout their time on our little planet.

I am a proud multipotentialite! Emilie’s talk reassured me so much more than I expected it to. I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I always found it easy to answer the ‘what do you want to be when you grow up?’ question as a child. I knew I wanted to see my books on the shelves in Easons, but now there are twenty other careers I want to tackle. I want to write YA novels. I also want to write advice pieces for women’s magazines. I want to work for a mental health charity. I want to work for a greeting card company (yes just like in 500 Days of Summer.) I want to work in a quaint country cafe. I want to be a librarian and a book seller and an English teacher and a script writer and a receptionist. And that’s all okay, it’s normal.

There is nothing wrong with being a multipotentialite. Embrace who you are and your 101 different interests. Don’t let society pigeon hole you into sticking with one career. You can be the head of a marketing company and a skiing instructor if you want to. You can be a trained ballerina and work for a gardening magazine if you want to. You can be captain of a roller derby team, a part-time nurse and a barista if you want to.

“Embrace your inner wiring whatever that may be.”- Emilie Wapnick.

Sincerely Yours,

Kat

Leave a Reply

