Bridget Jones’s Baby

I am a huge fan of the Bridget Jones movies; you’ll often see me frantically tweeting about how much I relate to Bridget and her giant knickers and swooning over Hugh Grant. The movies made such a big impact on me and taught me a lot of life lessons that I will always treasure. Bridget is one of the most important female characters I’ve come across in my life so far. She showed me that there’s nothing wrong with being goofy, there’s nothing wrong with not being a size 6 and most importantly she inspired me to start writing a journal; I now have over fifteen diaries full of scribbles from my early teen days to today. I was lucky enough to go to the Irish premiere of Bridget Jones’s Baby on Monday September 12th. I was over the moon when I was told I’d be attending the premiere because Bridget Jones is my fictional hero.

The premiere itself was nothing short of fabulous. Universal Pictures and the Odeon really pulled out all of the stops. There was free prosecco, a giant buffet full of tasty food, a DJ- who unfortunately didn’t play Geri Halliwell’s version of It’s Raining Men, a relaxation section with the nicest stripey deck chairs, a funky photo booth section (which was the best fun!) and most importantly, in true Bridget Jones style there were a giant pair of bloomers hanging from the ceiling. The atmosphere in the room was something else, everyone was in high spirits, full of smiles and full of free prosecco.

The second the film started and All By Myself began playing I got teary eyed. Seeing Bridget back on screen made me feel so nostalgic, it was like seeing an old friend again. I’m not going to go into a full blown review about the movie, but what I will say is that the film is flawless. It made me laugh so much my stomach hurt, it made me cry like a blubbering mess and it made me feel so unbelievably content. They could not have done a better job with her story. I am so glad that we got to see how Bridget’s life turned out. It’s impossible for me to pick a favourite moment in the film because I enjoyed every single second of it (except for when the credits started to roll) from Ed Sheeran’s cameo to Patrick Dempsey impressive collection of sweaters.

I will certainly be going to see it again and you should too. Bridget Jones’s Baby is released in Ireland on Friday September 16th 2016. Bring your tissues and prepare to laugh until your sides hurt, this is one special movie.

 

Leave a Reply

