22

Happy Monday to you all!

I turned 22 last week (I know, I know I only look 18, I’ve been told, A LOT!) I had a sweet little day where I drank cider with my friends, ate way too much cake and listened to 22 by Taylor Swift way too much. I love birthdays because a new year means a new chapter. 21 was a great year for me; I passed my 1st year of my journalism course with flying colours, completed the mini marathon, got published in a newspaper, went to Amsterdam and went to a tonne of incredible gigs) However, I am feeling so good about my 22nd year. I’ve got that feeling in the bottom of my tummy that this will be MY year.

On the morning of my 22nd birthday I was interviewed live on Phoenix FM, which is a local radio station in Dublin. I spoke about exams, college courses, dropping out of college and gave advice to students. Sharing advice live on air was such a confidence boost, it felt so great knowing my words would help people. That interview gave me the motivation and drive to make 22 my best year yet. So, like always I’ve made a list, a list of goals and things I’d like to do in my 22nd year on this little planet. 14067452_1151358188240953_7319738480573272607_n

1: Donate blood (if my iron levels aren’t too low)

2: Learn a new language- I was chatting to a customer in work in German the other night (my secondary school teacher would be proud) and it made me remember how much I enjoyed studying languages in school. I’m hoping to join a night course and try Spanish or French?

3: Host a charity event- I love being a volunteer and working for charity. One thing I’ve always wanted to do was host my own event for a charity of my choice, whether it’s a bake sale or a benefit night. I’m determined for it to happen this year!

4: Go to Disneyland- I know it’s a cliche, but it’s been a dream of mine since I was a kid. Disney was one of the biggest parts of my childhood and I still adore it today. I’m determined to hop on a plane over to Paris and embrace the magic.

5: Solo trips- I want to have the confidence to go to the cinema, the theatre, new cafes, new restaurants, new cities and new countries by myself.

6: Get two new tattoos- I have two tattoos that I’ve been dreaming about getting since I got my first one. I’m hoping to get both of them before we wave goodbye to 2016, but I’ll have to donate blood first, because the donor clinic won’t accept blood from freshly tattooed people.

7: Have work published in a national newspaper- During the summer I had four articles published in the West Cork People newspaper. Seeing my name in print in a real newspaper was the most surreal feeling ever and it’s one I want to experience again and again and again. I am more determined than ever to make it happen.

8: Be happy- 21 was a year of one too many bad brain days. My mental health deteriorated when I was 21, but I’m currently seeing a wonderful counselor who has helped me so much in such a short space of time. I’m determined to get back on track and to make 22 the happiest year yet.

Sincerely Yours,

Kat.

Leave a Reply

