Travelling Solo- It’s Adventure Time

I recently read an interview with Laura Jane Williams- writer and the most bad ass and wonderful woman to look up to- that has changed me for the better. There are so many female writers that I adore and look up to- from Jacqueline Wilson to Louise O’Neill, but Laura Jane Williams has given me the much needed push I’ve needed for quite some time. In her interview with gapyear.com she speaks about how she went travelling to discover who she is. She tells us how she is her truest self when exploring the planet. Her adventures in foreign lands have made her a braver and better person and that’s exactly what I need. I want to become the best version of me.  I want to leave my comfort zone and be adventurous.

At the start of 2015 I couldn’t even bring myself to get on a Dublin Bus by myself without freaking out and feeling like an anxious mess. However, over a year and a half later I have defeated that fear. I recently hopped on a train to Cork where I worked at a newspaper ( I had four pieces of work published in that newspaper EEP) and I also got on a bus to Dundalk to visit my bestie- I traveled to both these places at ease and without a care in the world. It was exciting. I loved how independent I was and the sense of freedom I had was immense. tumblr_static_bpw4uxjmkao0cgowkgcgksc84_640_v2

I’ve decided to follow in Laura Jane William’s footsteps and to start exploring and pushing myself out of my comfy room that’s donned in fairy lights. I’ve come up with a list of six places I want to visit by the time we wave goodbye to 2016. I’m going to start of small and make the most of the Irish Rail student prices and see what Ireland has to offer, but as time goes by I’ll be pottering around Terminal 1 on my way to the UK and then Europe. Who knows where I’ll end up in a years time. I’ve been bitten by the travel bug and I’m determined to tick each of these places off my ‘To Visit’ list.

Places To Explore in 2016:

-Galway

-Brittas Bay, Wicklow

-Achill Island, Mayo

-Brighton, England

-Edinburgh, Scotland

-Portmeirion, Gwynedd, North Wales

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only a page.”

Sincerely Yours,

Kat

Leave a Reply

