Bad Brain Days

I’ve been feeling very down lately. My spirits are low and I’m running out of positive vibes. However, unlike my past self I now have the strength in me to make myself feel better. We all have our down days and one of the most important things I’ve come to realise is that it’s completely normal to feel bad and to cry from time to time.

On these bad brain days I often find myself focusing on the negative parts of my life. I sit in my bedroom and mope around like a grumpy little oaf. I isolate myself and do as little as possible. I basically do everything you shouldn’t do when one is feeling glum. Thankfully I’ve realised there are so many things that make me smile like the Cheshire Cat on bad brain days. So, I thought I’d share my list with you and hope it helps you too.

  • Disney: I love everything about Disney. It fills me with so much joy. I cannot get enough of it. If there’s something that’s going to make you smile from ear to ear it’s gotta be Disney related. Visit the magical Disney shop on Grafton Street and try not to spend all your money on the soft toys (I’ve currently got my eye on Lucifer, the sleepy Eeyore tsum tsum and the little Flounder soft toy. They’re just all too cute!) A trip to the Disney store or a Disney movie marathon will always make me feel better. Day dreaming about visiting Disneyland is another favourite of mine; I’ll visit one day, soon!

  • Friends: I tend to shut people out during bad brain days, which is the silliest thing to do. It’s something I’m working on fixing and I think I’m doing a grand job at it so far. I’ve started speaking to my friend Laura on the phone which is the ultimate pick me up (even if our late night phone calls are ruining our sleeping patterns) Chatting about light topics like what TV shows we’re watching or what we did during the day has helped so much. Our light, relaxed & goofy conversations have kept my anxiety at bay and have made me laugh like an absolute loon at 2am.
  • Volunteering: I adore being  a volunteer, it’s one of my favourite things about who I am. I wish I had more time to do it these days, because my family over at the volunteer shop never fail to make me feel better, especially Sally and Tracey who are two women that I really look up to. They are some of the greatest people I have ever met. They make me smile and laugh until my sides ache. They also believe in me and support me so much. Working in the charity shop is a great way to get out and meet all kinds of characters, both good and bad. It’s also a nice way to give back to the local community. Pottering around the shop and fixing the book shelves and steaming clothes on a Saturday makes me feel so motivated and gives me a much needed confidence boost. Knowing the work I do is helping others is the best reward of all.
  • My Journal: I’ve got at least fifteen journals under my bed full of thoughts, memories, fears, hopes and story ideas. I try to write in my journal at least once a day. There is something so therapeutic about spilling all your thoughts onto the pages of a journal. Pick up a journal in Primark or splash out on one from Paperchase. Writing is one of the best ways to get things off your mind.  Embrace your inner Bridget Jones and start scribbling away in your diary.

  •  Travelling: I have a part time job now which means I now have money for the first time in forever. I visited Amsterdam at the beginning of the summer and since then the travel bug hasn’t left me alone. I’m constantly scrolling through booking.com dreaming about staying in the swankiest hotels in London. I’ve recently traveled to Cork and Louth by myself which I am so chuffed with. Last year I could barely get on a Dublin bus without having a panic attack so being able to travel solo is a huge achievement for me. I’m hoping to visit London within the next couple of months. I cannot wait to hop on a plane again.
Let’s hope the bad brain days stay away and that July is a positive month.
Kat
Leave a Reply

