Literary Love: You Couldn’t Ignore Me If You Tried by Susannah Gora

One of my main goals for the new year is to read a lot more. I’m aiming to have read at least 30 books by the end of the year. I adore reading. I have been a massive book worm since I was a young girl. I spent my early days reading Peter Rabbit and then later on I moved onto Jacqueline Wilson’s classics; from The Bed and Breakfast Star to Starring Tracy Beaker. Jacqueline is the author that inspired me to start writing my own stories. I remember when I was in 1st class I wrote a story in my copy book about a zebra and his friends. My teacher at the time Ms. Doherty read it and even told my parents how brilliant my level of writing was for a 1st class student. It’s one of my fondest childhood memories (and not just because they gave me two gold stars and a lollipop.) Books have always been a huge part of my life and I am so glad I’m making more of an effort in my twenties to read a lot more than I did in my teenage years.

One of the greatest books I’ve read recently is You Couldn’t Ignore Me If You Tried by Susannah Gora. If you know me you’ll know that The Breakfast Club is my all time favourite movie. I am so in love with the films writer John Hughes; who also wrote a number of my other favourite films including Pretty In Pink and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. I was over the moon when I found out there was a book all about the 80’s teen dramedies,  John Hughes and the stars of those classic 80’s films. Once I started reading this absolute gem I couldn’t put it down. I was completely fascinated by all the new information about Hughes and his films and the stars.

The book is all about the history of the iconic 80’s teen movies such as The Breakfast Club, Say Anything and St. Elmo’s Fire. Susannah Gora interviews the main people involved in these treasured movies; from Molly Ringwald to John Cusack and from Ally Sheedy to Jon Cryer. Susannah shares stories from the set, tales of the stars relationships and the magical ways John Hughes worked to create some of the biggest films of the 80’s. The book also explores how films such as Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and St Elmo’s Fire have influenced generation after generation.

The book is the most perfect read for fans of Hughes’ work and the Brat Pack. I learned so much more about the people that were part of the films that changed me for the better. These movies have had such a big influence on my life. Being able to read about how tough it was to find a fitting song for the iconic scene in Say Anything where Lloyd holds the boombox over his head was so interesting. Finding out that Hughes wrote scripts in the space of two days is both mad and inspiring. One of the best things I discovered whilst reading this wonderful book was that it was Ally Sheedy (one of my heroes) that came up with the idea to have the lyrics of the late David Bowie’s song ‘Changes’ appear in the opening sequence of The Breakfast Club.

My head is full of brand spanking new facts, shocking stories about how the label ‘Brat Pack’ ruined so many careers and my heart is full of joy after reading about Molly Ringwald and Anthony Michael Halls love for one another during the eighties.

If you’re a John Hughes fanatic like me or if you fist pump the air when Don’t You Forget About Me plays on the radio or if you long for a best friend like Duckie in Pretty In Pink then read this book. You will fall more in love with these movies than ever before. It’s bursting with stories about Hughes, his timeless films and the big stars of The Breakfast Club, Pretty In Pink, Say Anything, Sixteen Candles, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off and St. Elmo’s Fire.

You can buy You Couldn’t Ignore Me If You Tried on Amazon. It made me smile and cry and laugh and made me fall in love with John Hughes and the Brat Pack even more.

Sincerely Yours,

Kat

Leave a Reply

