The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Christmas is my favourite time of year. I love everything about it- the carols, the movies, the decorations, the food, visiting family and even the radio stations playing Mariah Carey every ten minutes. It’s a wonderful time of year that I’ve been excited about since early September (yes I’m one of those people.) I couldn’t let this festive season pass without popping up a Christmas themed post on my blog so I’ve decided to share some of my favourite things about Christmas with you.

Like always I was ridiculously excited for Christmas this year. Even though I was juggling college and work for the majority of December I didn’t let my busy schedule dampen my festive spirit. This Christmas was the best one I’ve ever had. So without further ado here are my five festive favourites.

MOVIES: I am a huge movie fan. I am completely in love with the cinematic world. There’s nothing I love more than getting lost in a story, meeting new characters and visiting new places- all from the comfort of my own sofa! Not a year goes by where I don’t snuggle up on the couch with a giant tin of roses and endless cups of tea for my annual Christmas movie marathon. I can’t get enough of Christmas movies! Whether it’s John Hughes’ classic Home Alone or Love Actually starring my beloved Hugh Grant (if you follow me on twitter you may know I am slightly in love with him… just slightly, it’s a minor crush.) They’re a staple part of my Christmas routine… and maybe my summer one too.
TWINKLY LIGHTS EVERYWHERE: I made a discovery this December whilst on a bus home from town with my lovely friend Laura- we are magpies. Every single time we passed something sparkly or shiny we were completely fascinated and often stopped to gaze at all the twinkly lights and pretty decorations on Grafton Street. My room is full of fairy lights so seeing houses decked out in twinkly lights is heavenly. There’s nothing I love more than strolling down Grafton Street with my pals on a December evening with the lights twinkling above us (ooh how poetic, my creative writing qualification wasn’t a total waste hehe)
FOOD: Food glorious fooood. I was extremely proud of myself during the middle of December as I managed to shift a couple of pounds, but then Christmas rolled around and well so did I. From turkey sandwiches to tins of Roses, I can’t get enough of Christmas grub. I currently look and feel like Monica in Friends before she lost all that weight. Attractive, right?
FAMILY: Christmas time always makes me realise how fantastic my family are. This Christmas I walked into my aunt Linda’s house and was greeted by all my little cousins donned in onsies and covered in Disney stickers. The floor was covered in wrapping paper and empty sweet wrappers, everyone was cheery and chatting and to top it all off Fleetwood Mac were playing on the radio. I’m very fond of my Mam’s sisters, they’re so positive and uplifting so I’m so grateful that I got to celebrate Christmas with them until the early hours of the morning. I started a conga line at 2am as Lionel Richie played on the radio. It was a swell moment. There’s nothing better than spending time with your nearest and dearest during this time of year.

CHRISTMAS VIBES: Let’s just ignore how stressful and hectic this time of year can be for a moment and focus on the amazing atmosphere around Christmas time. Everyone is so much happier and there’s a wonderful excitement around town. I love seeing how giddy my little cousins get when I ask them what they’ve asked Santa for, I love seeing my Nanny potter around the kitchen baking her famous Christmas pudding, I love how happy my mam gets when she decks the house out in tonnes of Christmas decorations (I’m surprised there’s no fairy lights in the toilet) I love driving around with my Dad with Christmas FM blasting on the radio, I love seeing everyone smiling and laughing with their loved ones. I love how happy this time of year makes me. I’m gutted to say goodbye to it but here’s to a brand new year and to Christmas 2016, let’s hope it’s a good one!
 

I’d like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Feel free to share some of your festive favourites with me in the comment section below.

Sincerely Yours,
Kat

Leave a Reply

