The Magical World Of Film

Films are a perfect escape from reality. They take you away from everyday life. There’s nothing I love more than sitting down and getting lost in the plot, meeting new characters, seeing new places and hearing new stories. Films have always played a huge part in my life; from my toddler days to my teenage years to my early 20’s. I thought I’d talk about my own experience with the magical world of cinema today; from my first film to my all time favourites.

One of the first films I ever watched was Disney’s Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. I will always be a huge lover of all things Disney. However, it wasn’t love at first sight for me and Disney films. One of my earliest memories is of 6 year old Kat sitting in front of my grandparents television on a rainy afternoon. I insisted on sitting right in front of the television, even though I had to tilt my head back to see the screen properly! My granddad popped the tape into the VCR and I glued my eyes to the screen. I enjoyed the majority of the film, up until the Evil Queens transformation. Oh yes. That scene left poor 6 year old Kat traumatised for weeks. The piercing screams of terror may have damaged my poor grandparents ears for quite some time, oops! I don’t think I’ve watched Snow White since that day… however, like I said I adore Disney. Some of my all time favourite films are Disney classics; The Little Mermaid, The Aristocats, Oliver and Company, Mary Poppins and Tangled being some of my top picks. I feel like Disney movies are the perfect nostalgic pick me up. They take you back to your childhood; to the simple care free days where we didn’t have to worry about bills or assignments or car tax. They never fail to cheer me up. I’ll still be singing along to Under The Sea when I’m 80 years old.

Disney played a huge role in my childhood, however at the age of 10 I was introduced to a film that I fell head over heels in love with. I was on holidays with my family in Blarney, Co. Cork. We were staying in my Dad’s cousins house. My Dad’s cousin Ken and his wife Fiona were the first people I met that had a ginormous flat screen TV. I was truly fascinated by the size of the screen, 10 year old Kat believed they stole it from the cinema. Anyways, Ken and Fiona picked the film that night and I will always be grateful for their wonderful taste in movies. So they popped on a film that turned out to be one of my all time favourites… JURASSIC PARK. The second it started playing I was hooked, I couldn’t take my eyes away from the TV. I was beyond fascinated by this incredible land, the dinosaurs, the characters, everything! It was all so magical to me. I did jump numerous times when the T-Rex made an appearance and on occasion I still do today. Sadly, I wasn’t allowed buy Jurassic Park on DVD because I was ‘too young’ according to my parents. They didn’t want me having nightmares about Velocripators chasing me around the kitchen. So I waited until my early teens and made sure the Jurassic Park DVD trilogy was on  the top of my Christmas list. When I received it on on Christmas morning I was over the moon… there was screaming, flailing and a lot of jumping around; then of course the rush to the TV so I could watch it. Nothing more festive than watching a film about people being eaten by dinosaurs, right? I could write an essay about how much I love this film. I’m currently sitting on my bed and to my left is my copy of the Jurassic Park novel by Michael Crichton, hanging on my wall beside my bed is my huge Jurassic Park poster (which I got for free a lovely guy in HMV who clearly knew the way to my heart) I am also sporting an incredibly stylish dinosaur print sweater. Big fan? Just a tad… I never get tired of watching it. It’ll always be so exciting, so magical and so thrilling. It’s one of those films that will never lose it’s charm in my eyes. However, I would not recommend watching Jurassic Park with me because I will quote it from start to finish. I’ll even sway and sing along to the theme song. I may as well just stick the film on mute and recite the script to you as my beloved Jeff Goldblum and co. struggle to get off the island. I can’t even put into words how much I love this film. It’s without a doubt the best. I’ve struggled to find a film that can beat it.

However, during my teenage years I was introduced to a film and it certainly won me over. If you know me you’ll know I am hopelessly in love with the Brat Pack. The Brat Pack is a nickname that was given to a group of my all time favourite actors during the 1980s, who starred in some of the most brilliant coming of age films. The main members being Judd Nelson, Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Ally Sheedy, Andrew McCarthy, Demi Moore, Anthony Michael Hall and Emilio Estevez. The movies this group starred in during this era are flawless and I am completely obsessed with them. My 80’s teen movie collection is slowly growing. The Breakfast Club is one of the most influential films I’ve watched in my life. I learned a lot from that film, I feel like it helped me become a better version of me and it also introduced me to this incredible group of actors and of course the unbelievable John Hughes. There was something about The Breakfast Club that just clicked with me. I feel so connected to these five characters. The film itself is incredibly simple; small cast, small set, and not a lot of action. There’s no explosions, no dramatic fight scenes, no evil villains waiting to kill their next victim. I think the simplicity of The Breakfast Club is what I love about it the most. It’s a relaxing watch. You don’t find yourself on the edge of your seat with beads of sweat rolling down your face whilst watching it. It’s weirdly calming. You meet these five wonderful, yet all extremely different characters, and we can all relate to each character and see parts of ourselves in each one. “We found out that each one of us is a brain, an athlete, a basket case, a princess and a criminal.” I fully believe that it is the best coming of age film ever! It’s my go to film whether I’m having a good day or a bad day. It’s a film I go to when I feel happy, when I’m upset, when it’s lashing rain, when I’m worried about college. I love introducing this film to people because I can’t possibly fault it. It’s well written, the characters are so well developed, the performances are flawless-especially Judd Nelsons, it’s witty, it’s inspiring, it’s just so unbelievably great. It’s John Hughes at his very best. I love the journey we get to take with the characters and how we get to know them in such a short time. It’s so simple, but it works too well. My love for the Brat Pack will never fade and whenever I hear Don’t You Forget About Me playing I will always do that iconic Bender fist pump into the air.

Tell me about some of your favourite films in the comments below.
Sincerely Yours,
Kat.

Leave a Reply

