A Brand New Chapter

2015 has been a bit of a roller coaster year so far. Over the past few months I have had my fair share of highs and lows. February was not a pleasant month. I experienced my first break up back in February and it’s safe to say I cried… A LOT. Break ups are not fun or easy; they’re draining and brutal. I’m not going to sugar coat it, it is really hard, but time is the best healer of all. As time goes by you start to feel like yourself again. I’m at the stage where I still have my bad days, but I also have my good days. I’m more focused than ever on making the remainder of 2015 amazing. I am a firm believer in the phrase ‘Don’t let the past steal your present’. We all have our days where we want to hide under our duvets and ignore the world around us, trust me, I’ve had a ridiculous amount of those days since the break up. It’s okay to have bad days, but don’t let them rule your life. You have to gather up the strength, hop out of bed, put on a smile and make the most of your day. Sometimes you have to go through the worst in life to get to the best. With that phrase in mind I tackled the following months with a lot of determination and a new view on life.

May was a golden month for me. It was full of great days that I will treasure forever. At the beginning of May I had three exams in college; Media Analysis, English Literature and Desktop Publishing. I know exams are stressful and draining, but these exams were exactly what I needed. They helped me ignore any negative and upsetting thoughts that were buzzing around my mind. Sitting in a classroom for two hours writing about James Joyce may not sound like fun, but it was one of the best parts of the year for me. I find exams daunting, but at the same time I weirdly enjoy them. I love that proud and relieved feeling you get when you put your pen down at the end of exam. There’s nothing better than feeling happy with the work you do, especially when it comes to exams. I felt like Brian at the end of The Breakfast Club when he finishes writing the essay to Mr. Vernon.

My favourite moment of the month is when I met Rae Morris. The entire day was so much fun and I felt so calm and content. Going to gigs is one of my favourite things to do. I’ve been to four this year and I feel so grateful that I get to see such talented people live in concert. Rae Morris’ gig was the best so far. I don’t know who could knock her off the number one spot. When times are tough and you’re feeling low, there’s no better way to cheer yourself than getting out and doing something you enjoy, something that makes you feel happy and something that erases all those negative feelings. Whether it’s swimming, dancing, cooking or running; whatever it is, go out and do it.

Moping around in your pjs will  make you feel worse. When you’re feeling down all you want to do is watch episode after episode of Gossip Girl and eat an entire packet of cookies to yourself. We’ve all been there! But the best thing for you to do is say goodbye to Chuck Bass, wipe the cookie crumbs off your face and go out. That’s what I did during the bad times and it helped so much. I voted yes in the marriage referendum and I watched our country make history. I went to my friends 21st and had a blast. I went to Sandymount beach with my Dad. I visited my Grandparents. I went on a drive with my favourite cousin and sang along to George Ezra. I strolled around the city on a sunny Sunday. I attended the Women’s World Expo with my best friend. We ate cupcakes, wrote on cars and chatted to a crazy fortune teller. I made new memories.

The main message i’m trying to get across here is that it does get better, even though life may seem grey now and you feel like you can’t get over the bad experiences that life throws at you. By sharing my personal experience with you I hope I can prove that even though terribly painful things happen in life, we can move past them and we can feel ok again. Back in February I felt like it was the end of the world. I lost one of the most important people in my life and I never thought i’d be ok again. I am a better person thanks to this bad experience. One phrase that helped me get past the bad days is “Life is like riding a bicycle, to keep your balance you must keep moving.” It’s funny because my ex gave me a lovely wall hanging at Christmas time and that phrase is printed on it. That phrase is what keeps me motivated and I hope it can inspire others too.

I see a new month as a new beginning;a blank space to watch new films, to meet new people, to visit new places, to listen to new music, to create new memories. If you are feeling low you need to take a deep breath and start again. Hop back on that bicycle and keep moving.

Sincerely yours,
Kat

Leave a Reply

